George Mason University Tech Leader and Saint Xavier University Tech Team Win 2020 Tambellini CIO Award



This year the Tambellini Group sponsors the fifth annual CIO Award as a recognition of excellence within higher education technology leadership. The award process exemplifies the Tambellini mission to capture, validate, and share insights on vital information for the higher education technology community.

CIO Award

The award highlights IT leaders who demonstrate effective leadership, innovation, and creativity in planning and deploying modern technology. It identifies those who go above and beyond in helping their colleagues and offering positive and compelling contributions to the higher education community.

Innovative Technology Team Award

This year Tambellini is adding an Innovative Technology Team award. The award will recognize a team that is leading innovation for its campus in the areas of AI/machine learning, identity access management, or student success.

Through these awards, current, future, and past CIOs and their teams will be reminded of the difference leadership and commitment can make in the advancement of in higher education.


One CIO in particular, who is held in high esteem and an inspiration to those seeking the award, is Dr. Wayne Brown. He has made a tremendous impact on CIOs in higher education as a longtime chief information officer within academia, himself. Brown has devoted his professional and academic studies to CIO attributes and effectiveness in higher education. You’ll find his exemplary research within his CHECS CIO studies over that last several years.


Nominations are solicited each January from professionals responsible for technology leadership at higher education institutions.

Individuals may be nominated by their colleagues at any institution or they may put their own name into nomination. Persons being nominated for the CIO Award are not required to have a CIO title, but must be a high-ranking IT executive within the college or university. Nominations for CIOs that currently work or have retired in the past year are eligible to receive this award.

Teams may be nominated by a colleague at any institution or a member of the current team. Teams being nominated must have a high-ranking IT executive within the college or university as a member of the team.

Judging of the nominations is carried out by the Executive Advisory Council of The Tambellini Group, representing technology leadership at higher education institutions throughout the country.


Award Winners

2020 Winner
2020 CIO Award Winner - Marilyn T. Smith

Marilyn T. Smith

Senior Advisor for George Mason University

Announcement of 2020 CIO Award View Now
2020 Winner
2020 Award Winner - Saint Xavier University

Saint Xavier University Student Success Initiative

Announcement of 2020 Innovative Technology Team Award View Now
2019 Winner
2019 CIO Award Winner - Samantha Earp

Samantha Earp

Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, Smith College

Announcement of 2019 CIO Award View Now
2018 Winner
2018 CIO Award Winner - Dr. Sharon Blanton

Dr. Sharon Blanton

Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, The College of New Jersey

Announcement of 2018 CIO Award View Now
2017 Winner
2017 CIO Award Winner - Michael Mathews

Michael Mathews

Associate Vice President of Technology and Innovation, Oral Roberts University

Announcement of 2017 CIO Award View Now
2016 Winner
2016 CIO Award Winner - Molly Maley-Gaik

Molly Maley-Gaik

CIO, Saint Xavier University

Announcement of 2016 CIO Award View Now